Can I update an approved Estimate with additional Services or Materials and resend for customer approval?

No. In this case, you should create a new estimate. 

Once the customer approves an estimate, the estimate becomes locked and auto-magically becomes an "Unscheduled" Job. We believe this to be a "safety" or fallback feature, so users always know what was originally accepted/approved.